Fifteen Private Sector Representatives (PSRs) were confirmed during the Regional Development Council (RDC) VIII Third Quarter Full Council Meeting on 30 September 2019 at the Felipina Hall, NEDA Regional Office VIII, Palo, Leyte.

They are: PSR Roy Bernard C. Fiel for the Agriculture and Fisheries sector; PSR Francisco P. Barredo for the Finance sector; PSR Mario Ian S. Mosquisa for the Environment sector; PSR Fred I. Placa for the Culture, Arts, and Faith sector; PSR Edmundo F. Gariando for the Academe and Science and Technology sector; PSR Reynaldo A. Franco for the Tourism sector; PSR Lolito T. Aures for the MSMEs-Services sector; PSR Anita M. Ogrimen for the Women sector; PSR Eugene A. Tan for the Business/Agribusiness/Manufacturing and Processing sector; PSR Angelito C. Cañete for the Infrastructure and Utilities sector; PSR Luisita J. Quebec for the Mass Media sector; PSR Arturo O. Gabrieles for the Persons with Special Concerns sector; PSR Miguel T. Tezon for the Labor sector; PSR Oscar B. Garol for the Youth and Children sector; and PSR Jazmin A. Jerusalem for the Poor sector. Regional Prosecutor Atty. Irwin A. Maraya administered the oath of office for the thirteen PSRs present during the meeting.

Additionally, the RDC VIII confirmed the Special Non-Voting Members (SNVMs) to the Council, namely: the National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA), National Telecommunications Commission (NTC) VIII, PhilHealth VIII, Philippine Information Agency (PIA) VIII, 8th Infantry Division – Philippine Army, Parole and Probation Administration (DOJ-PPA) VIII, Office of Civil Defense (OCD) VIII, National Intelligence Coordinating Agency (NICA) VIII, Regional Agricultural and Fishery Council (RAFC) VIII, Police Regional Office (PRO) VIII, Philippine Drug Enforcement Agency (PDEA) VIII, Philippine Air Force, Commission on Human Rights (CHR) VIII, and Ms. Elnora Argota of the Philippine Nurses Association.

In the same meeting, the Council also approved the updated Eastern Visayas Regional Development Plan (EV-RDP) 2017-2022 and its accompanying documents, the Results Matrix (RM) and the Regional Development Investment Program (RDIP). The documents were presented to, deliberated on, and endorsed by the Council’s sectoral committees before being approved and adopted by the Council.

Other important matters approved or endorsed by the Council during the meeting include: 1) enjoining LGU support to the Department of Agriculture – Bureau of Animal Industry (DA-BAI) in safeguarding the region’s ports to prevent entry of African Swine Flu (ASF) in the region; 2) inclusion of the Department of Information and Communications Technology (DICT) as a regular member of the Council; 3) inclusion of medical courses at the Southern Leyte State University (SLSU) – Maasin City campus; 4) endorsement of Southern Leyte Province’s request for financial and technical assistance from the Japan International Cooperation Agency (JICA) for the construction and establishment of the Provincial Disaster Risk Management Operations Center; and 5) endorsement of Southern Leyte’s investment portfolio for risk resilience for FY 2021-2022, among others.

Meanwhile, the Province of Leyte and the Department of Tourism (DOT) presented updates on the preparation for the 75th Leyte Gulf Landing Anniversary, including the ongoing Tourism Infrastructure and Enterprise Zone Authority (TIEZA)-funded beautification of the MacArthur Landing Memorial National Park. According to the DOT, the project is already 80 percent complete and is expected to be fully finished in time for the anniversary on 20 October.

Article by: Knulp Aseo, NEDA VIII
Photo by: City of Tacloban