The RDC VIII welcomed its new Sectoral Committee (SecCom) Chairpersons and Co-Chairpersons during the 1st Quarter 2020 RDC VIII Full Council Meeting at The Oriental Leyte, Palo, Leyte.

Commission on Higher Education (CHED) VIII Regional Director George M. Colorado of the Social Development Committee (SDC), Department of Tourism (DOT) VIII Regional Director Karen S. Tiopes of the Economic Development Committee (EDC), and Presidential Management Staff (PMS) VIII Regional Director Evelyn D. Clarin of the Development Administration Committee (DAC) took their oath of office as the new Chairpersons of their respective Committees.

Alongside them, Private Sector Representative (PSR) for Labor Miguel T. Tezon of the SDC, PSR for Tourism Reynaldo A. Franco of the EDC, PSR for Finance Francisco P. Barredo of the DAC, and PSR for Business/Agribusiness/Manufacturing and Processing Eugene A. Tan of the Infrastructure and Utilities Committee (IUDC) also took oath as Co-Chairpersons.

The newly-appointed Chairs and Co-Chairs will now lead their respective SecComs in tackling important sectoral issues that require the attention of the RDC VIII and, if necessary, raise these issues in the Full Council for appropriate action.

The SecCom Chairpersons and Co-Chairpersons were appointed by the RDC VIII Chairperson, Gov. Leopoldo Dominico L. Petilla in accordance with the Implementing Rules and Regulations (IRR) of Executive Order (EO) No. 325, s. 1996 entitled “Reorganization of the Regional Development Councils”, which allows the RDC Chairperson to appoint the SecCom Chairperson and Co-Chairperson.

Article and photo by:  Knulp Aseo, NEDA VIII