The Regional Development Council (RDC) VIII, through the interagency Election Committee (EleCom), conducted the election of the RDC VIII-Private Sector Representatives (PSRs) on 06 September 2022 at the Felipina and Zamal Halls, NEDA Regional Office VIII, Palo, Leyte.

The RDC VIII Vice-Chairperson and NEDA VIII Regional Director Meylene C. Rosales welcomed the 21 nominees and the official voters from the 70 private sector organizations who qualified in the selection process. The call for nomination for PSRs ran from 01 August – 01 September 2022.

The EleCom was comprised of three members per sector—two members from the Secretariat and a representative from the relevant regional line agency for each sector, i.e., Philippine Information Agency VIII for the Multimedia Communication Sector—in addition to a representative from NEDA VIII, Department of Budget and Management VIII, and Department of the Interior and Local Government VIII who served as oversight agencies.

Fifteen nominees were proclaimed as PSRs-elect by the three oversight agencies after the canvassing of votes. The PSRs-elect were duly confirmed and took their oath of office during the Council’s Third Quarter Meeting on 08 September 2022.

The following are the RDC VIII PSRs for the 2022-2025 term of office:

1. Health and Nutrition: Hector E. Tuburan Jr.
2. Basic Education: Rev. Fr. Rey Anthony P. Navidad
3. Persons with Special Concerns: (Women, Youth, Children, PWDs, Senior Citizens) Leo Christian V. Lauzon
4. Multimedia Communication: Atty. Buenaventura C. Go-Soco Jr.
5. Labor: Bellsedaize C. Acaso
6. Tourism: Reynaldo C. Franco
7. Infrastructure and Logistics Sector: Engr. Angelito C. Cañete
8. ICT: Imelda Angulo-Andales
9. Energy: Allan L. Laniba
10. Disaster Resiliency: Judah S. Aliposa
11. Environment: Mario Ian S. Mosquisa
12. Agriculture and Fisheries: Atty. Roy Bernard C. Fiel
13. Trade and Industry: Eugene A. Tan
14. Financial Intermediation and Management: Francisco P. Barredo
15. Research and Development and Innovation: Marvin F. Tobello

Article by: Veronica A. Riel (DRD)
Photos by: ay-Ar O. Ragub (PFPD)