The Regional Development Council (RDC) VIII confirmed 15 Private Sector Representatives (PSRs) during its Third Quarter Full Council Meeting on 08 September 2022 at the Felipina Hall, NEDA Regional Office VIII, Palo, Leyte.

The new set of PSRs for the 2022-2025 term of office are:

  1. PSR Hector E. Tuburan Jr. for the Health and Nutrition Sector;
  2. PSR Rey Anthony P. Navidad for the Basic Education Sector;
  3. PSR Leo Christian V. Lauzon for the Persons with Special Concerns Sector (Women, Youth, Children, PWDs, Senior Citizens);
  4. PSR Buenaventura C. Go-Soco Jr. for the Multimedia Communication Sector;
  5. PSR Bellsedaize C. Acaso for the Labor Sector;
  6. PSR Reynaldo A. Franco for the Tourism Sector;
  7. PSR Angelito C. CaƱete for the Infrastructure and Logistics Sector;
  8. PSR Imelda Angulo-Andales for the Information and Communications Technology Sector;
  9. PSR Allan L. Laniba for the Energy Sector;
  10. PSR Judah S. Aliposa for the Disaster Resiliency Sector;
  11. PSR Mario Ian S. Mosquisa for the Environment Sector;
  12. PSR Roy Bernard C. Fiel for the Agriculture and Fisheries Sector;
  13. PSR Eugene A. Tan for the Trade and Industry Sector;
  14. PSR Francisco P. Barredo for the Financial Intermediation and Management Sector; and
  15. PSR Marvin F. Tobello for the Research and Development and Innovation Sector.

The Department of Budget and Management VIII Regional Director, RD Imelda C. Laceras, administered the oath of office for the 13 PSRs present during the meeting.

Moreover, five local chief executives (LCEs) and seven PSRs were nominated by the RDC VIII to serve as Chairperson and Co-Chairperson for the next three years.

The slate of nominees for the LCEs comprised the Leyte Province Governor Carlos Jericho L. Petilla, Baybay City Mayor Jose Carlos L. Cari, Maasin City Mayor Nacional V. Mercado, Tacloban City Mayor Alfred S. Romualdez, and Ormoc City Mayor Lucy Marie Torres-Gomez.

From the private sector, PSR Aliposa, PSR Barredo, PSR Fiel, PSR Franco, PSR Go-Soco, PSR Lauzon, and PSR Tan were nominated for the positions.

Due to the low attendance of LCEs in the meeting, the Council allowed nomination in absentia. In addition, it was decided that all willing nominees would be endorsed to the Office of the President for appointment. Willingness to serve was determined through letters of intent sent to the Secretariat prior to the meeting by LCEs and through phone calls to other nominees absent in the meeting.

The endorsement of nominees to the Office of the President would take the form of a resolution through the Socioeconomic Planning Secretary Arsenio M. Balisacan.

Article by: Veronica A. Riel, DRD
Photos by: Josefina Ballesteros, PMED